Concealed Weapon Permits

Application process must be completed in person.

Concealed Weapon Permit Application

Initial application
The application process consists of a completed State of Idaho Concealed Weapons License Application form and a set of fingerprints and a $56.10 fee.  The Bureau of Criminal Identification (BCI) conducts a state record check and forwards the fingerprints to the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI).  The FBI conducts a national fingerprint-based record check and returns the result to the sheriff.  The required background check takes approximately 45 days to process.

Renewal application
To renew you permit you must come in and fill out the application form and pay the $37.85 renewal fee.  If the permit has expired over 90 days there will be an additional $10.00 late fee added to the $37.85.  If the permit  has expired 180 days or longer than the applicant will need to go through the initial application process again. Fees must be paid by cash or check.

More Information
For more information on concealed weapon license's,  Idaho law, or CWL reciprocity for other states, the following links are great resources:

Idaho State Police
Idaho Sheriff's Association
Office of the Attorney General, State of Idaho